December 21, 2012

  • conrad-johnson CA200, Part 2

    How does the CA200 sound?  Bear in mind this $6,500 control amplifier replaced $18,000 in c-j Premier level preamplifier and amplifier equipment.  Please see parts 1, 2, 3, and 4 regarding the Premier 16LS2 and parts 1 and 2 for the Premier 140.  The CA200 has its work cut out for it not only in the almost three times price differential but also because I feel that electrostatic speakers such as the Quad ESL-989s have a natural affinity, in my opinion, for tube-based equipment.

    The following observations are based on 71 hours of playing time with the CA200 in stock condition with the exception of an original version Shunyata Taipan Alpha power cord connecting it directly to the wall outlet.  The sound of the CA200 changed over the course of settling-in with the major improvement being its bass response.

     

    Listening Impressions:

    • There is a more polite and delicate flavor to the CA200’s sound with an overriding sense of clarity.  This is evidenced by low-level detail on familiar recordings becoming apparent for the first time.
    • Bass response is less prominent but what is there is tight and tuneful with a "count the string's vibrations" quality.
    • Spoken voice is clear and natural.  Singers, both male and female, have a strong presence in the listening room.
    • Upper midrange and lower treble is more detailed giving transients sharper edges.
    • Upper treble is more extended but non-fatiguing.
    • The sound stage extends farther behind the plane of the speakers but does not project as much into the listening space.  There is more projection into the room as cumulative playing time increased although it never matches the diorama-like quality of the Premier configuration.
    • Lateral separation is excellent but extends beyond the outside boundaries of the speakers significantly less often.

     

    Future installments will cover the introduction of HiFi-Tuning aftermarket fuses and Mapleshade Megamount brass footers. 

     

    Update 12/23/12:  I tried plugging the CA200 into the Hydra 8 power conditioner and did not like the results.  It sucked a good deal of the upper treble out of the presentation. Although I've found the Hydra to work well with source components and preamplifiers, this is the third attempt with an amplifier, the previous two being the conrad-johnson Premier 11A and Premier 140, and the change has been consistent.  There is an increase in richness/midrange texture and a slightly blacker background but at the expense of upper treble and presence. 

Comments (7)

  • You gotta plug the CA200 into a good powerline conditioner!

  • Okay, I'll try it plugged into the Hydra 8. I'd been hesitant to do so because while I preferred the 16LS2 preamp plugged into the Hydra, I thought it was a little too much in terms of smoothing out the sound of the Premier 140. I'll report what I think about the changes in sound.

    Thanks for the suggestion.

  • Does the Hydra 8 suck the treble from source components and preamps as well?

  • @rpghero27 - 

    Unlike power amps and integrated amps, I've felt that the benefits of the Hydra power conditioner more than made up for any shortcomings it may have had with source components and preamps. But, it's been a long time since I've had any source components plugged directly into the wall. I'd have to connect them to some power strips and then use those to connect to the wall because I don't have nearly enough outlets. I may try this just to see what happens as a reality check.

  • Arbitrary but is ca200 even remotely close to the sound quality of the premier setup that it replaced that I am looking to set up ? Tks !

    • Richard,

      I'm assuming you've read this installment? The answer is yes, in many ways it was not a step down and the longer I've lived with it, the happier I am. There are certain areas where my previous set-up excelled, sound staging in particular and the CA200 isn't quite up to those standards. For an all-in-one solution at an "affordable" price used, it's well worth the money in my opinion.

      Which Premier-level conrad-johnson products were you thinking of getting?

      Regards,
      Joe

  • Hi Joe,

    Thanks for the quick advice.

    I am current using the Luxman L-505ux but really missed the Premier 14 that I had and hence venturing to the following:

    - 16LS2 with L-505ux as power amp
    - ET5 with L-505ux as power amp
    - CA200 to 100% replace the L-505ux

    I am sure that with either 16LS2 or ET5, I will go to complete CJ power amp but your advice on CA200 to simplify the future system at much lower $ as you had also mentioned is tempting but 16LS2 is such a legend that I will try it hopefully. ET5 on the other hand is also tempting since new and can last me longer than the 10 year old 16LS2 and CA200 is somewhat in between.

    Sorry for the somewhat confusing statement but believe you understand the mind of audiophile when the itching starts.

    Any further comment would be appreciated and I truly take my hat off to you for maintaining such a great blog for the benefit of others.

    Thanks again !

    Greeting from Singapore

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *